Hello!

Welcome to RaiderQuest. Please drop in and say hi, introduce yourself! Enjoy your stay!

Moderators: Mich, Zendragon

Hello!

Postby Vinny » Sun Feb 10, 2008 1:31 pm

Hi!

This post is a little belated lol... I actually signed up here back in 2005. I was thinking of entering an online Lara contest at the time, and signed up to check out the Lara gear forum. However, I never had the time for the contest. I remembered this place because I want to dress up as Lara later this year at a convention. Amazingly, I remembered my username and password! I've been lurking a lot over the past few days, reading a lot of the old posts, and figured I may as well introduce myself :)

So a little about myself... despite my username (Vinny - something I wouldn't have chosen now, but I can't change it!) I'm female. I'm 24 years old. I'm Australian, but I'm currently living in Sweden, as my job allows me to travel a fair bit. I work as an engineer.

I've been a fan of Tomb Raider/Lara Croft pretty much since it became popular and I first heard about it. While I haven't played as many of the games as I want, I really enjoy them. The character of Lara Croft has always appealed to me, as I admire strong, independent women. Back in 2000, my mother suggested I go as Lara Croft to a dress-up day on the last day of high school, and I loved the idea since I liked the character. I had a lot of fun putting the outfit together, and felt totally awesome in it. I dragged it out again in 2002 to wear to a work costume/Christmas party (where one guy proceeded to call me "Angelina" all night, even though I was wearing the classic outfit!).

Over the past couple of years, I've been attending conventions, mainly sci-fi, as I'm a big Stargate fan, but more general ones too. And so I'm hoping to go as Lara to one later this year.